• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 120 other followers

  • Archives

  • The Just Poets Tweets

April is the Coolest Month – Just Poets Favorite Poem for April 9

As part of National Poetry Month, Just Poets members will share their favorite poems along with a brief note about why the poem is their favorite poem. Today’s poem is selected by Dee Hogan.

****

Robert Frost

The Telephone

“When I was just as far as I could walk
From here today,
There was an hour
All still
When leaning with my head against a flower
I heard you talk.
Don't say I didn't, for I heard you say –
You spoke from the flower on the window sill –
Do you remember what it was you said?”

“First tell me what it was you thought you heard.”

“Having found the flower and driven a bee away,
I leaned on my head
And holding by the stalk,
I listened and I thought I caught the word –
What was it?  Did you call me by my name?
Or did you say –
Someone said ‘Come’ – I heard it as I bowed.”

“I may have thought as much, but not aloud.”

“Well, so I came.”

****

Just Poets Member Statement:

I can’t forget Frost’s brilliant image of flowers as natural communicators to keep us close to those we love. No one in life or eternity is ever lost to us.

– Dee Hogan

****

“The Telephone” appears in Mountain Interval, which is available by clicking here.

****

Leave a Reply

