• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 120 other followers

  • Archives

  • The Just Poets Tweets

April is Here! National Poetry Month!

Despite the erratic weather, April is here. I promise, and to celebrate National Poetry Month, Just Poets members have chosen a favorite poem. I will be posting a poem every day, as well as a prompt inspired by the piece. So, here we go.

 

Our first poem was chosen by Phil Morabito:

 

I’ll be There – poem by C. David Hay, set to music by Phil.

 

When the days wane long and dreary

the nights are longer still

Trust I’m watching over you

and I always will.

 

Sonnets of love are sweet refrain

but none can ever compare

to simple vows from the heart

I promise I’ll be there.

 

I am your guardian angel

together we have flown

but when your wings grow weary,

you’ll never be alone

 

I hope you’ll always understand

that I’ll forever care

and when you need to reach for me,

you’ll find that I am there.

            You’ll find   that I   am   there.

 

Thanks, Phil, for your beautiful choice (and for making my prompt inspiration easy and intuitive!). For today’s prompt, write a sonnet. For those not familiar with the form, or if it’s been a long time since that course in Shakespearean Lit, you can see some examples of basic sonnet form here:

http://www.sonnets.org/basicforms.htm

 

Have fun and check back tomorrow for another poem, and another prompt!

Leave a Reply

