• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 120 other followers

  • Archives

  • The Just Poets Tweets

April 4th JP Poem Pick

Today’s pick comes from Kitty Jospé.

You can hear it by clicking here:

http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/19763

Or hear it read by Steve Huff:

http://artdrop.democratandchronicle.com/content/cows-night

The Cows at Nightby the late Hayden Carruth, 1921-2006  (Honorary Just Poets’ Member)

 

The moon was like a full cup tonight,

too heavy, and sank in the mist

soon after dark, leaving for light faint stars

and the silver leaves

of milkweed beside the road,

gleaming before my car.

Yet I like driving at night

in summer and in Vermont:

the brown road through the mist

of mountain-dark, among farms

so quiet, and the roadside willows

opening out where I saw

the cows. Always a shock

to remember them there, those

great breathings close in the dark.

I stopped, and took my flashlight

to the pasture fence. They turned

to me where they lay, sad

and beautiful faces in the dark,

and I counted them–forty

near and far in the pasture,

turning to me, sad and beautiful

like girls very long ago

who were innocent, and sad

because they were innocent,

and beautiful because they were sad.

I switched off my light.

But I did not want to go,

not yet, nor knew what to do

if I should stay, for how

in that great darkness could I explain

anything, anything at all.

I stood by the fence.

And then very gently it began to rain.

Very beautiful. Thanks Kitty.

So, for today’s prompt, since it is my mother’s birthday, let’s write a “motherly” poem. This can mean whatever you want it to mean. You can write a poem about your mother, your in-law, Mother Nature, the nature of nurturing in poetry, or even write a poem about Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Convention. Have fun and be creative!

 

Leave a Reply

