• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 120 other followers

  • Archives

  • The Just Poets Tweets

April 5th JP Poem Pick

Today’s poem was chosen by Lori Nolasco, and it’s her favorite because of its bold eroticism.

Hope you enjoy it!

Love Poem #1

by Pablo Neruda

 

Body of a woman, white hills, white thighs,

you look like a world, lying in surrender.

My rough peasant’s body digs in you

and makes the son leap from the depth of the earth.

 

I was lone like a tunnel. The birds fled from me,

and night swamped me with its crushing invasion.

To survive myself I forged you like a weapon,

like an arrow in my bow, a stone in my sling.

 

But the hour of vengeance falls, and I love you.

Body of skin, of moss, of eager and firm milk.

Oh the goblets of the breast! Oh the eyes of absence!

Oh the roses of the pubis! Oh your voice, slow and sad!

 

Body of my woman, I will persist in your grace.

My thirst, my boundless desire, my shifting road!

Dark river-beds where the eternal thirst flows

and weariness follows, and the infinite ache.

 

Such enticing language. Great choice, Lori!

So, for today’s prompt, let’s write a sensual poem. It can be erotic, but its doesn’t have to be. It’s a “let the language take over” sort of thing… Make Neruda proud!

 

3 Responses

  1. For me as a woman, this poem is not erotic but distasteful. It is violent
    to begin with and I don’t imagine sex that way. In the poem the man is plowing the earth, the woman. Making “you” — the woman, a weapon, an arrow or stone to use as weapon. Where does the vengeance come in. The woman’s voice slow and sad, I shouldn’t wonder. Eyes of absence. I don’t react with any sense of eroticism but fear and anger.

  2. I wouldn’t take the “weapon” literally. This weapon exists only so the speaker can “survive himself.” There is the whole idea of plowing the earth so the “son” leaps forth. Having never lived in a rural area, I also read this metaphorically. I do not read this as violent at all. It is passionate.

    In any case, at least we are having an honest dialogue about poetry and we are not forced to agree. Any dialogue is better than deafening silence.

    • Very true, Lori. Poetry should be able to make people feel uncomfortable. Poems spring forth from the shadows of the self, and those things, once brought to light, are not always pretty. But that’s what makes reading and writing poetry exciting, right?

Leave a Reply

