• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 120 other followers

  • Archives

  • The Just Poets Tweets

April 9th JP Poem Pick

Today’s poem comes from Mary DiGennaro and was written by the great Maya Angelou.

 

The Lesson

I keep on dying again.
Veins collapse, opening like the
Small fists of sleeping
Children.
Memory of old tombs,
Rotting flesh and worms do
Not convince me against
The challenge. The years
And cold defeat live deep in
Lines along my face.
They dull my eyes, yet
I keep on dying,
Because I love to live.

Maya Angelou

Wow. I have not read a lot of Maya Angelou, but from what I have perused, this little gem seems to be a bit of a departure. I could be wrong. Anyway, this poem makes me think of all of life’s little (and sometimes larger) paradoxes. So, for today, let’s write a paradoxical poem. We would all love to see what everyone comes up with!

Leave a Reply

