• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 120 other followers

  • Archives

  • The Just Poets Tweets

April 20th JP Poem Pick

Today’s poem was chosen by Ed Scutt, and what a perfect choice it has turned out to be! Today is Record Store Day–a nationwide celebration of independent music. So it is quite apt that our poem today was written by Tom Waits, one of the greatest songwriters of his generation.

 

Warm Beer and Cold Women

by Tom Waits

 

One of those nights

 

Warm beer and cold women, no I just don’t fit in

Every joint I stumbled into tonight that’s just how it’s been

All these double knit strangers with gin and vermouth

And recycled stories in the Naugahyde booths

 

With the platinum blonds, tobacco brunettes

I’ll be drinkin’ to forget you, I’ll lite another cigarette

And the band’s playin’ something by Tammy Wynette

And the drinks are on me tonight

 

All my conversations now I’ll just be talkin’ about you baby

Borin’ some sailor as I try to get through

I just want him to listen now, I said that’s all you have to do

He said, “I’m better off without you” until I showed him my tattoo

 

And now the moon’s rising ain’t got no time to lose

Time to get down to drinking tell the band to play the blues

Drinks are on me, I’ll buy another round

At the last ditch attempt saloon

 

Thanks Ed! For today’s prompt, you have two choices: write a poem about a musician or song, or write a poem about a bar. Maybe it’s about a jukebox playing in a bar. As always, be creative and have fun!

 

Leave a Reply

