• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 120 other followers

  • Archives

  • The Just Poets Tweets

April 21st JP Poem Pick

Today’s poem was chosen by George Wallace, who read at the JP Open Mic this month. This poem is by “Antler” a “next-generation Beat writer”. 

George likes how it talks about wildness, and poetry as a channeling experience.

 

What the God Says Through Me  ­

 

You won’t hear my poems at the poetry reading,

You won’t hear my poems over the radio.

If you want what the God says through me

Come alone with me into Quetico

and we’ll canoe across lake after lake

where there are no roads or houses

To a perfect lake with a perfect island

Where you and I will pitch our camp

and catch fish for twilight supper.

 

Sitting around the fire at night

Ask me to read something I wrote

For this is the place to hear me,

More stars overhead than you ever saw,

no other light in the woods for miles,

no other sound but the loon

And the night wilderness smells of September.

This is the place to hear my voice

if you want what the God says through me.

 

 

 So for today’s prompt, let’s write a wild poem. That could mean anything you want it to be! Be wild yourself! Have fun.

Leave a Reply

